Dim mak and men who stare at goats…

Latest film I’ve seen related to martial arts is ‘The Men Who Stare At Goats’. I loved it, though it doesn’t rate great on IMDB: http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1234548/ But with George Clooney, Ewan McGregor and Kevin Spacey you can’t go too far wrong.

But the ‘dim mak’ business was a little over done. I rented the DVD and the journalist who reseached the US soldiers who talked about alternative disciplines concluded it has one meaning: a precise soft ‘death touch’ that can be delayed up to 18 years later. The Yang taichi I was learning does have dim mak, but from what I learned the strikes, like all strikes, were for immediate effect and while they were supposed to be done precisely they weren’t meant to be done softly but with the use of ‘fa jing’.

